<---Return to Main Menu

The Battle of Arnhem has been stated by historians as Germany's last major victory in WWII. As such, it would be expected that a number of awards were handed out to those soldiers who had an influence on the outcome of this battle. This section aims to highlight all individuals who won some of Germany's highest awards for their efforts during the Battle of Arnhem. Under each section will be the names of each officer/soldier who won that particular award. By clicking on their name, the link will provide not only a little section of the person's orders and decorations but the reason why they received that particular award for their efforts in Arnhem (if available).

Ritterkreuz des Eisernen Kreuzes

(Knights Cross to the Iron Cross)

Kdr. SS-Panzer Division 9 'Hohenstaufen'
Kdr. Kampfgruppe 'Spindler'
Kdr. Kampfgruppe 'Knaust'
V./SS-Art.-Ausb.u.Ers. Regt.
Kdr. Assault Gun Brigade 280
Kampfgruppe 'Bruhn'
3./Assault Gun Brigade 280
Oberstleutnant Hubert von Svoboda
Kdr. Flak Kampfgruppe 'von Svoboda'


Deutsches Kreuz in Gold und in Silber

(German Cross in Gold/Silver)

Generalleutnant Heinz-Hellmuth von Wühlisch
Chef des Generalstabes Kampfgruppe 'von Tettau'
Kdr. SS-Sanitätsabteilung 9 'Hohenstaufen'
Hauptmann Karl Baum
Artillerie Regt. 191
SS-Obersturmbannführer Dr. Claus Günther
Divisionsarzt, SS-Pz. Div. 10 'Frundsberg'
SS-Hauptsturmführer Siegfried Klauck
16./SS-Pz.Gr. Rgt. 20
Kampfgruppe 'Knaust'
SS-Untersturmführer Werner Baumgärtel
Kdr. SS-Panzer-Pioneer-Bataillion 10


Ehrenblatt-Spange des Deutschen Heeres

(Honour Roll Clasp of the German Army)

Kdr. SS-Unterführerschule ‘Arnheim'
Kdr. Kampfgruppe 'Bruhn'
Oberleutnant Alfred May
Kdr. Panzer Kompanie 224 (c)
SS-Sturmbannführer Eugen Eberwein
II./SS-Unterführerschule ‘Arnheim'
SS-Obersturmführer Karl Orf
5./SS-Unterführerschule ‘Arnheim'
SS-Unterscharführer Wilhelm Kaiser
Sanitäter 3./SS-Aufklärungsabteilung 9
3./Assault Gun Brigade 280


<---Return to Main Menu

| Home | Disclaimer | Site Map | Contact Webmaster |